Regions


The National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) has over 300 laboratories that deliver pathology services to all public clinics and hospitals. For the purposes of the NHLS' work, the laboratories are located in areas that are referred to as service regions, namely KwaZulu Natal, Mpumalanga and Limpopo, Eastern Cape, Western Cape, Free State and North West and Gauteng to be announced.

NHLS has expanded from 4 to 6 regions as this positions the NHLS to be more responsive and effective in the way it does business.
New offices have been opened in Polokwane, Bloemfontein and East London which will enhance visibility, accessibility and service of the NHLS across the country and provide improved delivery to the most important stakeholder, the patient.
Area Managers have taken up their roles to head up each region effective 01 September 2013.

KwaZulu-Natal  

Area Manager

Sibulele Bandezi

Physical/postal address: NHLS Laboratory, 149 Prince Street, Durban 4001
Tel: +27(31) 327 6736
Fax: 086 774 7405
Cell: 083 468 0552
E-mail: sibulele.bandezi@nhls.ac.za

Secretary
Geraldine Hendricks
Physical address: 149 Prince Street, South Beach, Durban, 4001
Tel: +27 (31) 327 6718
E-mail: geraldine.hendricks@nhls.ac.za

 

 

Mpumalanga and Limpopo

Area Manager

Jacob Lebudi Jacob Lebudi

Physical/postal address: Office A101 The wood Office Park
41 De Havilland Crescent
Lynnwood
Pretoria
Cell: 082 904 4416
Tel: +27(15) 296 3780
E-mail: jacob.lebudi@nhls.ac.za 

Secretary
Koketso Matlala
Cell: 082 608 4117
E-mail: koketso.matlala@nhls.ac.za

 

 

Eastern Cape 

Area Manager

Tabita Makula

Physical/postal address: 44 Pearce Street
Berea
East London
5241
Tel: +27(43) 700 8701
Cell:  082 893 6875
Fax : 086 535 6519
E-mail: tabita.makula@nhls.ac.za

Secretary
Ms Yoliswa Jebe 
Tel: +27(43) 700-8702
E-mail: yoliswa.jebe@nhls.ac.za

 

 

Western and Northern Cape

Area Manager

Nasima Mohamed

Physical address: National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
Old City Hospital Complex
Admin Block
Portswood Road
Green Point
Cape Town
Phone : +27(21) 417 9377
Cell : 082 322 0950
E-mail: nasima.mohamed@nhls.ac.za

Secretary
Wilma Mooi
Tel: +27 (21) 417 9376
 

   

Area Manager

Free State and North West

Area Manager

Jone Mofokeng

Physical Address: National Cancer Registry (NCR) Building, Braamfontein Campus, NHLS
Tel: +27(11)489 9170
Cell: 082 603 2577
E-mail: jone.mofokeng@nhls.ac.za

Secretary
Amelia Strydom
Tel: +27(51) 405 2914 /+27(51)411-9940
Cell: 082 805 7374
Fax: 086 520 3014
E-mail: amelia.prinsloo@nhls.ac.za

   
Gauteng

Area Manager

Bahule Motlonye

Watkins Pitchford Building, Corner Hospital and De Korte Street NHLS Braamfontein
Tel: +27(11) 489 9650 
Fax: +27(11) 489 9653
Cell: 082 807 2650
E-mail:   bahule.motlonye@nhls.ac.za 
 
Personal Assistance
Bertha Mkhize
Tel: +27(11) 489 9651
Cell: 082 880 0805
Fax: 086 520 2405
E-mail: bertha.mkhize@nhls.ac.za